Birding in Barrow Alaska

They sat like silent sentinels on hummocks way out on the tundra – each seemingly with its own territories. As I gazed through a scope, I could see the scattered brown flecks of the Snowy Owl’s summer plumage.

The opportunity to see these wonderful birds was one of my motivations to visit the North Slope of Alaska – and I was not disappointed. I traveled to Barrow on an informal post tour with five other members of the Audubon Naturalist Society and our two guides.

As our plane began the descent into Barrow, I slowly grasped the fact that I was traveling 340 miles inside the Arctic Circle to the northern most occupied area in North America. Tiny lakes and ponds dotted the barren landscape, many still covered with snow and ice.
Read more…

Leave a Reply

